The Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series Brings Some of the Best Authors to the Stage

The Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series launches its 39th season this year and will feature 10 award-winning literary writers from September 2019 through April 2020, whose work is powerful, bold, and inspiring. On September 16th, the series will present Colson Whitehead.

Colson Whitehead is, according to George Saunders, “a splendidly talented writer, with more range than any other American novelist currently working whatever is needed by the work.” He is the author of seven novels and two works of nonfiction, including his first novel, The Intuitionist. In 2016, Whitehead published the #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, for which he earned both the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award.

Whitehead’s many honors include Guggenheim and MacArthur “genius” Fellowships and a Whiting Writers Award. He will return to Houston with his new book The Nickel Boys, “a stunning novel of impeccable language and startling insight” (Publishers Weekly), based on true events from a boys’ reformatory in Jim Crow-era Florida, about two African American teens whose polarizing world views echo beyond the decades.

Readings begin at 7:30 pm (doors open at 6:45 pm) and are held at Cullen Performance Hall at the University of Houston. Get your tickets now for $5 at We can’t wait to see you there!

Our team at Oxford at Country Club Apartments in Baytown, Texas recognizes the truth in this old saying: variety is the spice of life! Spice up your weekly routine by making plans to attend this event on Monday.

Event Time/Date:
Monday, September 16, 2019—7:30 PM

Event Venue Location:
Cullen Performance Hall
4300 University Drive
Houston, Texas 77204

Latest Blogs